Banana Strawberry Parfait w Apple Yoghurt


A few weeks after Ahmad had generously made the delicious Lebanese-inspired dinner for Nada and myself, I thought it would be nice to return the favour. Dinner was risotto with asparagus, but I had no time to capture those on film, so instead I opted to use the little time I had and shoot the colourful dessert. Besides, it’s much more interesting to look at anyway 🙂 And, not to mention the best part to eat 🙂

Parfaits are so easy to make and they’re so decorative – it looks like you spent so much time making it, but really, it’s usually done in a few minutes. If I’m having guests over, I will usually chop up all the ingredients I need (in this case I chose strawberries and bananas and chocolate chunks) in advance. That way I can put everything together at the last minute so that the ingredients retain their flavour and texture.

You can choose to put any kind of yoghurt/frozen yoghurt or ice cream in your parfait. I opted for regular yoghurt (I prefer natural 6% yoghurt) since I find the fruit yoghurts are too sweet and have way too many artificial ingredients, not to mention all the added sugars you don’t really need. I mixed the natural yoghurt with some homemade apple butter Isabeau and I made back in August, for flavour and sweetness. The combination was quite good (hadn’t made that combo before) – it was zesty from the apples and lemon juice from apple butter and creamy from the yoghurt. Aside from a few chocolate chunks on top, this dessert is quite low on sugar.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………

For high resolution images, please click on each photo.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

RECIPE

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Strawberry Banana Parfaits with Apple Yoghurt

Ingredients
  • 2 cups of strawberries chopped
  • 1 or 2 bananas chopped (depending on how many people you’re feeding)
  • 6% fat or higher natural yoghurt (or fruit yoghurt if you prefer)
  • Chocolate chunks for sprinkling on top
Layer strawberries, banana and yoghurt in a parfait glass or martini or wine glass. Sprinkle with chocolate chunks. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

