Brown Tomatoes and Boccaccini Salad with Herbes de Provence


On my first visit to Italy, I was very lucky to stay with my friend Elena’s family. Elena’s mom is an incredible hostess and cook – she made some of the most delicious Italian dishes I’ve ever tasted. I felt priviledged to have been able to taste authentic Italian food – the way it’s supposed to taste. I remember that one of the most common salads we had at home and in restaurants was simple tomato-boccaccini layers drizzeled with olive oil. This is still one of my favourite salads to make and eat because of its simplicity and freshness – not to mention how pretty it looks on a plate πŸ™‚

Yesterday, while I was at the grocery store, I noticed these brown/olive green tomatoes, and I was automatically intrigued. I have never seen brown tomatoes before, and the small picture on the package of a layered tomato-boccaccini salad gave me an idea for this post. Why not spice up the classic recipe with this interesting new variation? So, I did πŸ™‚ I drizzeled the little towers with some olive oil and herbes de Provence.

I did some research afterward just to get some more ideas for the future, and found out that these brown tomateos are actually called kumatos or tomatoes with a tan :). These were locally grown, which was a nice added bonus. They were a bit meatier and had more flavour than a regular tomato, which I liked. They also had a thicker skin so it made them easier to cut and stack. Kumatos have been popular in Western Europe for years and have entered the North American market only early in 2009 – and already the demand is surpasing the supply. Apparently they also have more vitamin A and fibre than a regular tomato. Yay!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

For high resolution images, please click on each photo

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

RECIPE

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Brown Tomato (Kumato) Boccaccini Salad with Herbes de Provence

Ingredients
  • 2-3 Brown tomatoes (or regular red if you can’t find brown)
  • 2-3 boccaccini balls
  • olive oil for drizzling
  • Herbes de Provence, salt and pepper
Using a serated knife cut tomatoes and boccaccini balls into half inch (equal) slices. Stack, alternating tomato and boccaccini. Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle salt and papper and Herbes de Provence. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

