Lavender Cookies


Lavender. What do you think about when you smell it? Spring? Freshness? Or perhaps shortbread cookies? This post was inspired by several different memories, all of them involving lavender…and I thought what better way to make a keepsake?

Has it ever happened to you that you meet someone and don’t think much of it, until he/she does something that you didn’t expect – pleasantly surprising you in the process, and from that point forward you see him/her in a completely different light? For me, it’s always about the small gestures of kindness and the thought behind it, and this one was no different. A few years back I had a pleasure of meeting a French exchange student that started playing on our varsity soccer team. One day I had a gathering at my house for all the soccer buddies and I invited Victor and his friends to also come along. I had very brief interactions with him before that. On the day of the party, he brought a small gift for me. It was a sachet of dried lavender that his mom made from the lavender that grew around their house in France. It bore the name of their estate. He said it was to be put in my closet to make my clothes smell nicely. Since then I have kept it, and it is featured in this post. Thank you Victor for showing me that life is all about the small gestures of kindness!

Another lavender related memory, a more recent one was from last weekend when my best friend Z came to visit. Z’s visits are like food to the soul – always so much laughter and fun! Recently, also much of reflection and self-discovery.
Among our many adventures over the two days, one of them was a quest to find a bunch of lavender. I had already invisioned what this post would look like and a bunch of lavender was essential. Apparently, tis not the season for lavender yet, so we had a hard time finding it, and this post was almost pushed for later in the summer. Z wanted to go ‘antiquing’ in Cambridge, and I’m glad we did, cause she found awesome clogs and an interesting clock…and just when we weren’t expecting it, in a flower shop close by, we found a bunch of lavender also! I guess it was meant to be πŸ™‚

So, it’s the end of May and I can count the number of sunny days on one hand in this month! That is probably the reason I didn’t have more posts this month…natural light was very bland. This past Sunday I got lucky for a few hours in the morning with some sunshine and decided to make the best of it. The sun was hiding behind the clouds from time to time, which actually worked out perfectly cause I needed the bright sunlight softened down. The lavender lends itself so easily to photos, the colour is so vibrant.

The cookies themselves are quite easy to make….the list of ingredients is small, and most of these things you would most likely already have in your pantry. Aside from perhaps lavender, although it’s readily available (the actual buds are, but if you’re as determined as me to find an actual bunch of lavender, this may take a little while longer :)). The lavender gives the shortbread based cookies quite an interesting flavour. I wonder what the fresh buds would taste like and if they would be much different from the dried ones. Regardless, they are quite decorative…and you may choose to make them all different shapes…I just found a round-edged square to be interesting for me πŸ™‚ Happy Spring!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Click on each photo to view the high resolution images.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

RECIPES

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Lavender Cookies

  • 1 cup (250 mL) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup (50 mL) granulated sugar, plus more for sprinkling on top
  • 5 tbsp (70 mL) icing sugar
  • 2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp (25 mL) finely chopped fresh lavender flowers
  • 1/8 tsp (0.5 mL) salt
Β 
  1. Cream butter until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in sugars, then flour, lavender and salt. Form into a round flat cake, wrap with waxed paper and refrigerate for an hour. Coat baking sheet with nonstick spray or line with parchment paper.
  2. Preheat oven to 350Β°F (180Β°C). Roll out dough on a floured surface to 1/4-inch (5-mm) thickness. Cut with a 2- to 2 1/2-inch (5- to 6-cm) cookie cutter and transfer to baking sheet about 1-inch (2.5-cm) apart. Prick each cookie with a fork and dust lightly with granulated sugar. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly coloured. Remove from sheet, cool on a rack and store in an airtight container.
Makes 24 cookies

Β 

11 responses to “Lavender Cookies

  1. A new post finally, the pictures are great as usual. πŸ™‚

  2. Darling, perhaps you can use my new clock to time some lavender baking in my kitchen?

    You’ve made me want to make a bunch.

    • ha ha ha! yes, let’s do that the following weekend! I still have a whole bunch of lavender buds… πŸ™‚ Z, they are heavenly..crumbly in your mouth…mmmmm πŸ™‚ xo

  3. Look like they melt in your mouth…so delicate and buttery. Must find some lavender flowers and bake ’em!

    • thanks FoodGirl πŸ™‚ They actually do melt in your mouth… butter is the best thing ever! Lavender shouldn’t be hard to find. Usually you can find bags of lavender in bulk food stores or health food stores…sometimes even regular grocery stores! Good luck!

  4. mmmm… you should call us over every time you cook/bake something πŸ™‚ we can always help you finish It πŸ™‚

    great stuff

  5. Oh wow. Those look absolutely delicious. Like melt in your mouth with a fresh taste of lavendar delicious. And I love your little arrangement with the twine and the sprigs of flowers. So beautiful. It looks like the type of thing that would be sold in quaint little coffee shops for 10€!!!

    Picturewise I am loving the composition of the third picture. The ummm dont know how its called in english, but that thing to mix or mash, really adds some interessting structure. And its properly out of focus not to distract from the main star which is your oh so perfect little bundle of cookies (and yes I agree, this shape really works well). However, you’re going to hate me because I previously told you to add accesories, buuuuut in the other pictures I find that your accesories actually slightly detract from the cookies instead of helping the composition. Thats probably just because I like those little bundles so much and they are so perfectly composed that I think they should stand alone in all their glory πŸ™‚

    And now that I think of it, little bundles like this should quite enjoy international travel… If there are any left… πŸ˜€

    • Merci M for your comments and compliments. I always learn so much πŸ™‚ Mm…I think the mashing thing is just called a masher… but ya, I got that at an antique market and I thought it would compliment the cookies well. Yes, so, you are correct – they do melt in your mouth and can probably withstand pressure of 30,000 feet in the air… πŸ™‚ Hmm..I would love to be able to sell these for 10 Euros! hahahah πŸ™‚

  6. Hey yummypixel,
    I’ve just awarded you a Sunshine award for your delightful and yummy-looking blog! You can visit my latest post (8 June 2011) to pick it up. Congrats! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

